About DFA Awards

Facing competition, complex and uncertain challenges in society, we need a creative thinking and new knowledge to enhance competitiveness and sustainable development. Design is beyond visual aesthetics. It presents an attitude, innovative thinking, creative confidence and a people-centric approach. Design often offer solutions, drives urban and economic development, and builds a better society.

Asia, as one of the world’s most important economies, has a vast consumer market and potential. The geographical reach of Asia encompasses a diverse spectrum of unique lifestyles, cultural heritage and socio-economic development. Asian designs now also play an increasingly vital role in offering solutions to the challenges which arise from our everyday life.

Since 2003, Hong Kong Design Centre has launched the DFA Awards to underpin the role of designers in society, and to celebrate design leadership and exemplary designs and projects with impact in Asia and commercial success, as well as to recognise the emerging force of Hong Kong young designers.

Through these five award programmes, the DFA Awards honours design excellence with impact in Asia:


DFA Lifetime Achievement Award

Signify the design community’s respect for individuals who have made lifelong contributions to the design profession and education, as well as society, especially in Asia.


DFA Design Leadership Award

Recognise business leaders who create exceptional and sustainable business success through strategic and innovative use of design.


DFA World’s Outstanding Chinese Designer

Acknowledge the contribution of Chinese designers to the world; for designers of Chinese origin who have significant design achievements and international recognition.


DFA Design for Asia Awards

Commend a wide range of designs which embody the Asian aesthetics and cultures, with influence in Asia and for Asia. The awards are presented to the design solutions which have been deemed exemplars for improving the quality of life, and inspiring the future design development.


DFA Hong Kong Young Design Talent Award

Nurture the development of emerging Hong Kong young designers and design graduates, and provide sponsorship for them to gain experience overseas, through work or further education.